Tags

, , , , ,

First, I want to say that this is not a paid plug for this science curriculum.  I receive no compensation for my recommendation and I have no affiliation with this program that I want to present to you.  I also want to let you know that you can follow my blog as we venture through the below recommended curriculum.  I will be blogging our science experiements, so more shall be revealed!

Opening a science text book is the fastest way to develop an aversion to science for children.  Science must be applied, touched, felt, moved, seen, and smelled in order to understand it and excite a child’s imagination.  For years I have searched for a science curriculum that I could really understand and feel comfortable teaching.  I have spent extensive hours and money purchasing various programs in hopes of finally finding the one that will really help me teach science to the kids.  After many mistakes and continued quests, my searches have finally paid off with Super Charged Science.

Since my kids have learning disabilities, you can only guess who else has learning disabilities – yes, you guessed it, ME (could you not tell by my grammar, spelling, and typos on this blog).  Although I was never formally diagnosed (they did not do that in those days), I can see the same struggles in my children as I have in myself.  Reading directions is very difficult for me and science is all about directions.  In each chapter of a text book or unit study one must read directions on how to take this vial and pour this solution into this funnel through this screen, heat with this burner, measure the temperature, observe reactions, create condensation, crystallize the mixture, etc., etc.  I can read the instructions for these experiments til I’m 90 and I still would not get it.  And you can only imagine how well my kids can understand directions- NOT!  They have the same issues.  Not only do they not understand them, they cannot even read them.  The inability to understand written directions is a typical sign of dyslexia (dyslexia is more than just reversing your letters as some may think).  Perhaps it is because the directions seem so abstract when presented in words scrawled across a page.  Dyslexics need to visualize what is being said.  Our dyslexic brains need to SEE the process; a picture really is worth a thousand words for us.  And that is why Super Charged Science works!

If it were not for Aurora Lipper’s, who is the the founder of Super Charged Science, videos of each experiment, which shows step-by-step instructions on what you need and how to do it, I would not have purchased this program.  In fact, the videos are so wonderful, the kids can actually do the experiment without me, what a concept for the parent of dyslexic children.  I can sit in the back ground just to make sure that they are not doing anything dangerous (they do use bunson burners and toxic chemicals for many of the experiments in chemistry).  They simply press Play and Pause through out the experiment giving themselves time to imitate what ever Aurora is doing.  Not only is this an added bonus for me (breaks are appreciated), but also for my kids as I can see their pride swell as they take control of the lesson and move it along on their own, something they are typically not able to do.

Supercharged Science is my saving grace.  This program provides a plethora of instructional videos for EACH experiment.  And if you don’t have time to drive all over town getting materials, you can purchase a package deal that will not only include access to all the instructional videos for an extended period of time, but also includes boxes of supplies needed for the experiments, but be for warned, this program is not inexpensive. Good things don’t come cheap.

The diamond package is the most complete package and the one that I purchased.  I felt like three years of solid science curriculum plus instructional videos by a qualified science teacher were well worth the cost.

The cost is $1895.  It includes materials for the following Labs:  aeronautics flight, electricity and robotics, light and lasers, physics of motions and sound, hover craft, earth mover, alternative energy, underwater robot, chem 1000, chem 3000, advanced alternative energy, electronics 1, 2, 3, and 4, plus 5 years access to e-science which is all the instructional videos on line for each lab.  As I understand the program, it would take you about two to three years to complete everything in this package if you were doing science at least three times per week during the school year.

The Gold package is the next option at $1195.  It has everything the Diamond has except the advanced alternative energy, electronics 3 and 4, and the chem 3000 labs as well as only 2 years of unlimited access to online instructional videos.


The silver package is the last package at $599 and includes everything that the gold has except, alternative energy, underwater robot, chem 1000, electronics 1 and 2, and only 1 year of unlimited access to online instructional videos.

As a final option, you can also just purchase a month of membership at $37 per month that gives you unlimited access to all instructional online videos.  The big disadvantage to this is that no materials are included.  Some experiments call for easy to get household supplies, but many of the more interesting experiments call for things that are not common and that you will most likely have to purchase from an online source which can get expensive with shipping.

To purchase packages or online membership, you can go to the Super Charged Science store site and to actually do the experiments and learn more about the different units, you can go to the Super Charged Science website.

Picture of my kids and two additional kids that I home school doing a desalination experiment from Super Charged Science Chemistry unit.

Like all things with dyslexic children, the curriculum must innovative to reach them.  Everything is such a struggle for them to understand academically.  If they cannot process it in all three modalities, visually, kinesthetically, and auditorily, then it will not work.  I know there is a lot of emphasis put on the quest to find out if your child is a visual, an auditory, or a kinesthetic learner, but I say who really cares; do it all and then you can’t go wrong.  Overtime, after working with your children, you will see how they learn best.  It will be a method that they repeatedly use.  Then you can find a way to help them adapt that method to all their studies.

I hope this helps you in your science endeavors with your children.  As usual, please do not hesitate to ask me more questions and I apologize if I missed something in this post.

Hugs and blessings,

April